Thailand entry rules

September 30, 2022

Thailand removes all covid restrictions

From October 1, 2022, Thailand removes all covid restrictions - tourists can fly in without tests and certificates, as it was before the pandemic.

The Minister of Health Anutin Charnvirakul announced the changes after a meeting of the National Committee on Infectious Diseases.

Covid has been removed from the list of dangerous infectious diseases that prevent entry into Thailand and is now considered a disease requiring monitoring. This decision was made on September 20, 2022 by the Cabinet of Ministers of the country.

Wearing masks on public transport and in cinemas is still mandatory.

In addition, according to the Bangkok Post, the Thai operational headquarters proposed lifting the state of emergency, which has been in effect since the first days of the pandemic in 2020.

July 1, 2022

Thailand: new entry rules

The Thai Royal Thai Gazette ("Royal Gazette") officially published a government order on the rules for the entry of foreign tourists into the country from July 1, 2022.

Thailand Pass is not needed from July 1, insurance is also not required.

From July 1, 2022, all you need to enter the kingdom is a passport, vaccination certificate (Sputnik V, Sputnik Light are also suitable) or a PCR test result (not older than 72 hours before departure).

January 8, 2022

Thailand opens 3 more destinations in addition to Phuket

From January 11, 2022, Thailand reopens (in addition to Phuket) 3 more destinations Sandbox Thailand Pass ("Sandbox")

On January 7, 2022, the Thailand COVID-19 Management Center (CCSA) approved a new round of relaxed entry measures for international arrivals in Thailand. Three more Sandbox destinations are opening – Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao).

* * *

Sandbox entry programme available at 4 destinations

From 11 January, 2022, international travellers will be able to travel to Thailand under the Sandbox programme, and can choose to undergo their mandatory 7-day stay in either Krabi, Phang-Na, Phuket, or Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao).

All travelers must make sure they have all the documents before applying for the Sandbox Thailand Pass:

  • A vaccination certificate
  • A pre-arrival negative RT-PCR test result
  • Prepaid 7-night’s accommodation in an approved hotel
  • Prepaid RT-PCR tests for when in Thailand
  • Insurance policy with coverage no less than US$50,000

Travellers must stay at least the first 7 nights within a Sandbox destination if planning to continue the journey to other destinations in Thailand.

If staying less than 7 nights, the traveller must leave Thailand to another country immediately.

* * *

Lifting of travel restrictions on arrivals from African countries

Also from 11 January, 2022, the CCSA approved the lifting of travel restrictions on arrivals from African countries.

This means travellers from Africa will be allowed to apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.

December 20, 2021

New TEST & GO Thailand Pass applications remain suspended until further notice

The CCSA also approved the measure to maintain temporary suspension of the Thailand Pass system for new registrations under the Exemption from Quarantine (TEST & GO).

Entry measures for travellers who have obtained their Thailand Pass QR code before 22 December, 2021, with scheduled arrival dates in Thailand from 24 December, 2021, onwards, are currently under review by the CCSA. Updated information (as soon as it becomes available) can be checked through

Alternatively, travellers who are currently planning to enter Thailand can apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.

* * *

Thailand’s 26 "Blue Zone" provinces remain in place

The CCSA also approved the measure to maintain the designation of 26 "Blue Zone" provinces with pilot tourist destinations. However, stringent health and safety guidelines will be introduced.

Currently, the "Blue Zone" destinations are:

Central Region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang district only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern Region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chon Buri (only for Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya, and Si Racha districts, and only Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien subdistricts in Sattahip district), Rayong (only for Ko Samet), and Trat (only for Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts).

Northern Region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim, and Mae Taeng districts only) and Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen, and Wiang Pa Pao districts only).

Northeastern Region: Buri Ram (Mueang district only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, and Ubolratana districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan district only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio, and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong Khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udon Thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom, and Nong Han districts only).

Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only), and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao only).

More information here.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

And find out about our new promotions, hotels, last minute tours, the best deals of the week!